Product Focus: Suave Almond and Shea Butter Conditioner

I ran across a topic on this conditioner a few months back, but didn’t pay much attention to it because I’ve become rather set in my ways.  But yesterday, I was in my local Rite-Aid with every intent on getting my normal Tropical Coconut Conditioner that I use for my co-washes, and I saw it.  At $2.79 for 14.5 oz, I thought, what do I have to lose.  So, I bought it and thought I’d give it a try.

Now, before I go into my personal experience, let me tell you the claims that this stuff has to live up to from the site:

Salon proven to moisturize your hair as well as Aveda® Dry Remedy® shampoo and conditioner*†.

Infused with 100% natural almond and shea butter, which are known for their rich emollients. The shampoo and conditioner system replenishes lost moisture, leaving your hair well-nourished and beautiful.

That is one.  heavy.  claim.  Well, let me back up a second.  If it was a conditioner that was salon proven to smooth has as well as Aveda Elixir then maybe it would be a heavy claim.  Nonetheless, I do think it is pretty bold of them to make such a bold claim (pun intended).

And you know what, when you put such a strong statement out there, the masses are sure to put it to the test.  And so, me being the lemming that I am, I decided to see if the product could actually hold its own.  I really liked Dry Remedy overall, but because my hair is so thick, so dense and getting pretty long, I have to use sooooo much product that I shy away from investing in the treatment.  My hair has suffered a little for it.  It’s a little dry and straw-y.  It’s because I haven’t been baby-ing it like I should – at least not consistently for the last couple of months.

Anyway, I bought the Suave conditioner only.  I still don’t use shampoo, so I can’t comment on that part of the duo.  I wet my hair and agitated my scalp a little with water only.  I haven’t used any product in quite a while and I don’t have any build up.  Once my hair was saturated, I squeezed out a little of the Suave.  First things first.  The scent permeated throughout the shower.  How would I describe it…earthy and exotic.  I definitely got a hint of the almond, but ever so slightly.  It a more raw, natural scent – versus a sweet marzipan (which I hate).  Same with the shea butter.  It was more of a refined scent, than the nutty aroma you get from pure shea butter.  The mixture was  an enjoyable experience.  Strong at first whiff, but light and lingering after rinsing.  5 stars in that department.

The consistency.  This stuff is thick, thick, thick and a little bit more thick.  What does that mean exactly?  Let’s go back.  The claim is that is moisturizes as well as Dry Remedy.  So, this is NOT going to be your everyday, co-washing conditioner, which I think I (and a lot of others) have come to equate cheapie Suave conditioners to be.  No ma’am.  This really is a thick, and luxurious conditioner.  I put on probably about four good handfuls for my entire head and allowed it to sit while I showered.  Just before rinsing, I took my fingers and ran them through.  I got pretty good slip as well.  Consistency gets 5 stars for a deep conditioner.  As far as slip, 4 stars.  I no longer detangle in the shower but rather during my styling process.  Weird, I know.  But it’s how I do it.

After rinsing, my formerly dry, straw-like hair felt much softer.  It wasn’t like butter or anything, but there was a definite difference.  My hair was actually quite easy to detangle once I got out of the shower, and it felt soft, even after my styling.

Overall, I would give this conditioner 4 stars.  I’m still on the fence as to whether or not it moisturizes as well as Dry Remedy, but it sure comes dang close if it doesn’t.  And I can already think of additions to boost the effects: honey, coconut oil, olive oil, heat.  I’d love to see the cumulative effects of using this on the regular.  For $2.79, this is a new staple that will be added to my regimen.

In a perfect world, I would incorporate this after a bentonite cleansing…one that I am definitely overdue to have – just need to find the time!

Has anyone else fallen in love with this new condish?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vera on August 4, 2010 at 2:27 am

    Oh and speaking of thick and curly. My hair is way thick, but I have the ringlets and curls with not having to use a ton of conditioner. I co-wash with a normal amount while in the shower and when out I spray on a mixture of Garnier Fructis Sleek-n-Shine Fortifying Conditioner, coconut oil and water. My curls pop for wash-n-goes, but since I don’t use a comb a whole lot anymore, I have serious tangles to contend with and just below shoulder length. Instead I finger comb and put my hair into small to med twists to air-dry (sometimes left in 2-3 days), followed by applying a small amount of coconut oil or unrefined shea butter when I take the twists down. Since starting this regime, my twist-outs are very soft, defined and frizz-free.
    I use this conditioner mix to re-dampen my hair before re-twisting. I am about 9.5 months post relaxer and only did a mini-chop of 3-6″ in January (3 months post) and I never had a demarcation line as my hair is curly root to tip regardless. So far my hair is loving these conditioner sprays more than anything else I’ve tried and I try to use silicone-free conditioners (at least non-soluble ones). Matter of fact, I’ll have to give up my Garnier as it seems the recipe changed to include Amodimethicone, hence the reason I ordered the Sauve Almond & Shea Conditioner!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vera on August 4, 2010 at 12:26 am

    I usually just a lurker…love reading your blog!!
    I just ordered the Sauve Almond Shea Conditioner tonight after reading about it on another site a few days ago. Did you say 14 oz for $2.79? It only cost me $2.87 for 32oz at walmart.com….for that price I got 2!! Thought you might like to know that..PLUS if your order is nothing but health and beauty products, the entire order ships for just .97 cents!!
    The cornrows are gorgeous on you btw :)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jai on April 10, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I used this as a pre poo with Vatika Oil and I really liked it, it has great slip with a decent price!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Trina on April 5, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I did buy this, and tried it out. My hair is super, super thick, that I just could not tell if it worked any better than the Suave’s coconut conditioner, that I usually use. I do agree with you, that the texture is super thick, I may have to try it a few more times, to see if it really, really works. I didn’t see immediate results.

    Also, I’m starting to get a little frustrated, because my hair is so thick, I have to put damn near a whole bottle of conditioner on my hair to obtain ringlets or curls, that you have on many of your pictures. Is this something that is normal? How much product do you typically have to put on your hair? Maybe I’m just shy with the products. I just don’t want it to feel like a jerry curl….lol

    Reply

    • Hey girl,
      Welcome to the world of the super duper thick curly head…

      I get three cowashes AT BEST out of a bottle of Suave or VO5. Some people water the conditioners down a little to stretch them, but I don’t really bother. I probably used a little over a third of the bottle of Suave Almond and Shea conditioner for this go round. And it’s the reason why I have no problem whatsoever using it as my moisturizing conditioner. Getting only 3 uses out of the bottle of almost $30 Aveda Dry remedy is not a good look!

      And it is only going to get worse as your thick hair gets longer.

      As far as the amount of product, I usually go pretty light on the styler (gel, cream, etc.) and heavy on the leave-in underneath. I feel like that has been my saving grace.

      But, other than that, I have yet to find away around it…other than the product free routine I had been following for a while.

  5. Yeppir, skipper! I’m new to CO washing, just started about a month ago, and it was going o.k. – then I found this conditioner, and I’m really in love with it, and feel it does great things for my hair! My hair is naturally fine and fairly thin, shoulder length. About 6 months ago I bodywaved to add body, but with it all one length, it didn’t do that much. My hair is also color treated, but honestly, this stuff has it feeling as great as my teenaged daughter’s virgin hair!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

