The Devil is in the Details

So (just that quick), I got quite a few e-mails about detoxing.  From, “what are you planning to do” to “Don’t dare do the lemonade diet [master cleanse]” so I felt the need to spell out some of the details a little sooner than planned.

First of all, I am in no way, shape or form planning any sort of liquid diet, master cleanse, water only death march detox.  I am looking to eliminate allergenic foods.  Stop ingesting mucus forming foods.  Support my liver and flush out my colon and kidneys.  My goal isn’t weight loss, but rather rejuvenation.  If done right, weight loss is simply a side effect.  My focus is on eliminating processed foods, eating organic whenever possible and cutting out the bad white stuff.  Saying bye-bye to sugar, gluten, dairy and yeast.  But rather than focusing on what I can’t do, let’s highlight all the things I will be doing.  Getting cozy with probiotics, green leafies, and fiber rich foods.  Making water my best friend.  Saying good morning with lemon water and yoga.  Dancing with the ‘alternatives’ (soy, rice and almond options are abound for lots of dairy items).  Relaxing in the sauna a few times a week.  Taking longer walks with my dog with baby on my back (I’m a baby wearer and I love it).  Getting cozy with Bentonite Clay all over again (on my hair and face to further draw out the toxins).

I could go on and on.  But I won’t.  I just wanted to expound on the nature of a detox…done right.  You don’t need to starve yourself.  If anything, it’s the perfect opportunity to begin loving yourself.

7 comments

  1. Kinkerbelle ( I love it!),

    1st – Wow, looooooooove the hair.
    2nd – congrats on the decision to change your diet and thus your life. I’m sure your Temple will thank you for it.
    3rd – hahaha, I did the Master Cleanse for 10 days. It’s not a diet but a detox. I wasn’t hungry at all and it worked for me. This year I’m thinking of fasting for a a bit with green juices/smoothies. But the Natural Hygenists have a point, if you detox with say, just water for a few days and get lots of rest & relaxation, that is a true detox to your body to allow it time away from the ardous task of digestion to focus on any other healing you need done.

    @Kink: Try Purely Decadent dairy-free ice creams. You’re welcome! ; -)

    1. Hey Tammi! Thanks for the clarification on the Master Cleanse! I personally need a kinder, gentler detox 🙂 It’s taxing enough ridding the body of toxins, and with my current lifestyle (fully time work, full load of classes, uber-active todder, and running a household) I need a little more for my system given that pure rest and relaxation aren’t an option for me! But by all means, if one can get away, simple is best!

      And yes, I LOVE Purely Decadent…I suggested it to an earlier poster. It’s a nice little treat when you can’t do dairy! But remember ladies, everything in moderation…even the alternatives!

  2. Kink,

    My mom and I have also been talking about becoming vegetarians/vegans for health reasons. We both share similiar hormonal issues as well as extra weight gain as we’ve aged:( I think the addiction to sweets/carbs etc and lack of continuous exercise have gotten to us as well. We have set a start date of January 1st to be realistic, but plan to start before then. What I’ve read says for each thing you take a way, every week or two weeks, to replace it with a fruit, veggie or grain. I have major vocal problems and dairy is a major culprit. It is so hard for me to give up the ice cream. I will be trying so delicious or soy delicious, gotta look it up. I don’t do much milk by itself anyway. I think the worse part will be giving up cheese, I love some nachos with cheese and peppers. I gotta find a replacement, but I will make the switch asap:)

    1. Hey Carmelnaps25! Thanks for dropping in!

      PLEASE, please report back on how everything goes after the new year. I’m about to update on it soon, but let me tell ya…it’s NO JOKE…in the beginning. Now, however, it’s like I’ve just awakened from a decade long hibernation (details to come).

      Oh, the love-hate relationship of dairy. We definitely don’t need it in our lives, but it’s by far one of the hardest things to give up.

      As far as ice cream, might I suggest Turtle Mountain (it’s in the So Delicious family you referenced): http://www.turtlemountain.com/products/purely_decadent.html, and allow me to go even further and suggest the cookie dough. Good stuff chica. Good stuff. Don’t get me wrong, just because it’s dairy free doesn’t mean you can eat the whole container, but it’s an ever-so-enjoyable treat that will satisfy the crave monster.

  3. I keep imagining myself as that 100% natural chick…natural hair, clean eating, simple and pure. Unfortunately I allow the stress of having a family of five and being the only woman in a house of men send me running for alone time( 11:30p.m. and beyond) and a brownie. No more excuses though…a new year, a new me. I’m trying to decide if I want to follow Dr. Mercola or Dr. Perricone. They both have their own websites. Dr. Perricone believes in what he calls an anti-imflammatory diet. No sugar, salt and lots of fish and veggies and hydrating fruit such as melons. He is big on salmon as the DMAE is good for keeping your skin looking younger. He has a blog too actually. Detoxing is hard, it’s easier when you are already eating right. It’s hard to give up sugar and salt. When we fast at church I always try to give up sugar and salt a week before…if I don’t I can forget it. Also Dr. Don Colbert has an excellent detox in his book “Toxic Relief” (he has a website too). I’m sorry if I went on and on. I’ve been on this journey a minute and have yet to succeed but have a wealth of information.

  4. I’m not quite sure why people associate detox with a crash diet. I am happy that you broke it down lol. I’ve been wanting to change the way I eat i.e organic foods etc. I became a vegetarian for a week lol. Soy Milk made my lips itch lol. I’m not giving up though. Slowing but surely I will eliminate the bad and bring in the good. I am extra protective of what I put in my natural hair and how I maintain it. Why wouldn’t I do the same for my body. FYI. I am enjoying your blog so far 🙂

    1. Thanks Sha! You hit the nail on the head. We owe it to our bodies to give it the same level of TLC as we do our manes! Heck, in turn, our mane will continue to thank us for it! The right diet does wonders for your being!!!

Leave a Reply

