Natural hair does not always mean healthy hair, Pt. 2

Before I get into the details of my previous hair missteps, let me start by saying my particular routine (and path to this point, and so on) is not for every one.  Not everybody wants to wear their natural hair in protective styles the majority of the time.  Not everyone wants to go the route of mostly natural products.  There are plenty of people who are what we call “straight-hair naturals”.  And they do it beautifully.  My natural hair straightened is more beautiful than my relaxed hair every was.

With that out of the way, if purely healthy hair is your goal and you are looking to minimize damage from heat, excessive styling, etc…take a gander at the following and at least learn from my past mistakes.  Why eff up when I’ve already done it for you??

Every single picture in this post presents evidence of heat damage (didn’t really know it at the time though).  Take a sec to look at my texture in these photos vs my texture in any other pic on the blog.  You’ll quickly see the difference.

Every where you see hair that is remotely straight…heat damage.

Twists that would unravel…heat damage.

Curls and coils that appeared much looser back then versus my kinks now…heat damage.

One more note before the photos: my conclusion that I suffered heat damaged is largely from me knowing my hair now.  I am not saying it’s not possible to have looser hair, or smoother textures on the same head of hair.  I possess those now, even in my days of fully healthy hair.  I just want to show comparison pics of my hair then vs. now for examples.  I guess I’m trying to avoid all those “well, my hair is blah, blah, blah.”  This blog is about me people.

6 comments

  1. Hello There
    I hope your pregnancy is going well. I too have heat damage and I was wondering how you went about getting rid of it. Did you BC or let it grow out and gradually cut the heat damaged parts off? What styles did you wear during the damage period. I am currently wearing twists just as you have in the picture above and they are very skinny and not plump at all some unravel and other are perfectly curled at the ends. Should I just start over and not try to save the little bit of undamaged hair I do have? Btw my hair is about shoulder length so cutting it into a TWA is not very appealing at this point but dealing with two textures isn’t either, you advice is greatly appreciated. You can e-mail me. I want to hear about the pregnancy too! 🙂 I recently had a baby back in February so I can def relate to what your going through now.

  2. Posted by FrustratedMomma on February 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Hey hun, I need help! my 5 year old seems to have the same texture as you do which is VERY different than my own. i braid it and wash it but it never stays moisturized beyond the first day and its always fuzzy due to her VERY active play in the covers of the bed on the floor etc. it’s very pretty to look at but a nightmare to do. i can’t let her wear it out full and curly because that would be a nightmare with tangles so i braid it and wash it once a week to try to tame it but her ends are still suffering they are so raty and dry should i trim them or do you think with maintenance they will come back to life? i have pics of her hair i can send you if that will help. my mom keeps telling me to take her to a salon but i think its too young to take her and i wanted to wait until she was atleast a teenager befor i ever blew her hair straight but shes been begging for it now. i think its a bad idea?

    i thought about tiny twists or braids (without adding extension of course) but her hair is very fine yet full (if that makes sense) and it would take me an eternity to do them!

    this is exactly like my daughters hair and i was wondering could you send me the advice you sent the original comentor

  3. Sorry for the delay in my response. I was pregnant and ended up going into labor 3 days after I sent that e-mail so needless to say I’ve been a bit busy. I appreciate your e-mail and I will respond soon with a pic of her hair.

  4. Hey hun, I need help! my 5 year old seems to have the same texture as you do which is VERY different than my own. i braid it and wash it but it never stays moisturized beyond the first day and its always fuzzy due to her VERY active play in the covers of the bed on the floor etc. it’s very pretty to look at but a nightmare to do. i can’t let her wear it out full and curly because that would be a nightmare with tangles so i braid it and wash it once a week to try to tame it but her ends are still suffering they are so raty and dry should i trim them or do you think with maintenance they will come back to life? i have pics of her hair i can send you if that will help. my mom keeps telling me to take her to a salon but i think its too young to take her and i wanted to wait until she was atleast a teenager befor i ever blew her hair straight but shes been begging for it now. i think its a bad idea?

    i thought about tiny twists or braids (without adding extension of course) but her hair is very fine yet full (if that makes sense) and it would take me an eternity to do them!

Leave a Reply

