Okay, Okay…I’ll define ONE MORE TIME

I haven’t actually defined my curls in ages.  I’ve learned to embrace the coarse, cottony thickness as it grows, product-free.  9 times out of 10, my hair is either in a bun or in twists.  It’s just how I roll these days.  Minimally styled hair is the way to go.

But I’ve gotten a lot of questions on how one would define their curls at my current length.  I started to reply with my normal, “Well, I don’t really do that anymore, blah, blah, blah” and talk about the beauty of keeping it simple, but then I thought, “Hey chick, stop being self-centered.”

You see, not everyone wants to resort to twists, braids, buns and puffs after a certain length.  And to be honest, you shouldn’t have to.  If you want to learn how to define curls at longer lengths, you should be able to go to a trusted source, ask for the information, and not have to worry about a lecture on the alternative.

With that said, I am going to bite the bullet and set aside some time to define the waves and curls.  Here is my product list:

  1. Giovanni Tea Tree Triple Treat shampoo.  For me, I HAVE to have a FULLY CLEAN slate when defining my curls.  Defining after co-washing for months might leave behind a little residue, and to me that = frizzy, frizzy hair.  Contains no sulfates, but has lots of goodie natural oils and extracts!!
  2. Aussie Moist 3 Minute Miracle Deep Conditioner. Gives my hair amazing slip and makes detangling a breeze.  In the past, I have used HE Hello Hydration, and even Trader Joe’s Nourish Conditioner.  I keep coming back to this stuff as it works best for me.
  3. Giovanni Direct Leave-In.  Sigh.  Not that I don’t love this stuff, but my beloved Elixir from Aveda was discontinued and I am still very, Very, VERY BITTER about this.  And I digress (has there been a post yet where I didn’t?).  So, the direct leave-in is my fallback.  Leaves my hair super soft and moisturized.
  4. Stay-Sof-Fro Conditioning Spray.  Yes.  The stuff that has been around since the ‘fro was celebrated in the days of Angela Davis.  It actually was brought to my attention by Jazzi Jenni, the original natural haircare guru in my world.  So many times, we search for the latest, greatest, au naturale, high-end, shipped in from Tahiti magic potion, that we overlook the tried and true.  Sometimes it pays to look at the lower shelves of the drugstore!  Now, I do have to say – SSF has a couple of parabens in it.  For the most part, that is usually a deal-breaker for me.  But this is one place where I’ve been a hypocrite.  I used this stuff when I defined occasionally, and I’ll use it again for this attempt.  You just have to decide whether or not you want to go there and if it is worth it to you.  I did feel the need to let folks know!
  5. Eco Styler Gel.  I previously used the brown stuff, but I’ve fallen head over heels for the Olive Oil Gel.  Good ingredient list.  And you just can’t beat the price.

Well, that’s it for starters.  I’ll report back once the deed is done and you can see what life is like as a defined, thick haired curly.  Good Lord, I seriously don’t know the last time I did this!!!

4 comments

  1. you sound a bit fustrated boo, is every’ting alright? for fewer frizzies & light definition i’m luv’ing Curls Curl Souffle by the way.

    1. I used Curls Souffle when my hair was shorter – about two years ago. A little thick for my hair, though. Not frustrated at all. Just saying that I will finally define the curls. I get a lot of requests to see what my hair looks like defined at this stage. And it’s something I haven’t done for AGES. I don’t remember the last time actually!

  2. Can’t wait to see the results! You are the closest I have come to a hair twin and definitely an inspiration. Having thick hair is great but sometimes it is overwhelming. Eco styler has been a revelation for me, and the one thing I am still working on is just how much to use to avoid the dreaded “crunchy hair” while still keeping curls clumped and defined. Can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

