Product Focus: Wheatgrass Fixing Gel

I stumbled into The Body Shop yesterday because they were having a decent sale.  I went into to buy some coconut body butter, and happened across a hair product I had never seen before: Wheatgrass Fixing Gel.  Took a quick look at the front description – a simple ‘Medium Hold’ and ‘For All Hair Types’ was all I saw.  Turned it over to check what I already knew – no bad ingredients…after all, it is The Body Shop.  So, I bought it.

Good StuffGot home, washed my hair (I took out my braids two days ago), conditioned the ends a little, and went to work.  I sectioned my hair into three sections – the back and two sides.  Then, in each section, I worked in ‘rows’, adding leave-in conditioner first, then raking about a nickel to a quarter size of the gel through my hair.

This stuff has major potential.

I have beautiful, kinky waves that are the TRUE texture of my hair.  Let me clarify.  Whenever I use other styling products (EcoStyler or IC Fantasia Gels, Curly Pudding, even the beloved Kinky-Curly Curling Custard), I feel like my texture gets a “bump.”  Don’t get me wrong; there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.  But I have come to quite adore my kinky wavy hair.  I do NOT belong to any one hair type.  I am against saying my hair is 3c, 4a, 9z because my hair does so many different things.  And its versatility and nonconformity is what makes it ‘me’, so, I’m kinda over trying products that beat it into submission.  My hair is big, bad and a whole lotta awesome…and Wheatgrass Fixing Gel brings that out.

I know.  A lot of you are gonna say “But Kink, you’re still using gel…if you purport to love your hair so much, why don’t you just go product free?”  Herein lies the dilemma of natural hair (for me, anyway).  If I could have soft, cottony hair all day, withOUT the pain detangling, knots, bubbles and looming dreads, I absolutely would.  But alas, that is not my reality.  The lack of silkiness in my hair – at least at this length – requires that I put some sort of something on my “out hair” if I expect to retain any of it.

Now, back to the product.  My looks exactly like it is…kinky and wavy, without a false sense of forced silkiness and without being weighed down.  I’ll need to use it a few more times before I can truly put it on my list of potential staples, but for now, my heart is a-flutter (pics will follow…I just had to get my thoughts out!).

Best part about the gel?

Thanks to Community Trade aloe vera, not only do you get unbelievably soft, shiny hair with long-lasting hold, you help provide vital income to aloe farmers in Guatemala, where half the population earns less than $1 a day. The Guastatoya Farmers can now afford to send their children to school, and The Body Shop® pays a social premium that buys urgently needed teaching materials for more than 200 schools in the El Progreso region. So whenever you style your hair, you are getting a lot more than a cool ’do. You are helping to invest in Guatemalan children and future generations, which is a look that never goes out of style.

How could you not try it???

The ingredient list (it’s a little long, but no red flags):

Water, Aloe Barbadensis Gel, Propylene Glycol, VP/VA Copolymer, Pentylene Glycol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, VP/Acrylates/Lauryl Methacrylate Copolymer, Dimethicone Copolyol, Panthenol, Caprylyl Glycol, Fragrance, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Collinsonia Canadensis Extract, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Sodium Chloride, Lophophyrum Elongatum (Wheatgrass) Extract, Oryzopsis Miliacea (Ricegrass) Extract, Benzophenone-2, Disodium EDTA, Hexyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Geraniol, Laurtrimonium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Citronellol, Biotin, Sodium Hydroxide.

7 comments

  1. Sodium Chloride (aka Table salt)
    Caution
    A corrosive in anything left in the hair. Used as a stabilizer, thickener, and cheap Ph adjuster [Begoun].

    When salt water dries, it pulls water from skin and hair, and therefore may irritate it. Winter (7th ed.) pg 472, says that salt workers have lots of skin rashes.

    Avoid in leave-in conditioners because salt is corrosive. However, in shampoos, if it’s near the bottom of the ingredients list, it should be fine. –T

  2. HI Just wanted to say Thanks and I am learning so much about hair/products etc from you!! Much appreciated! your hair is so healthy and looks Great!! TTYL

  3. I know what you mean about your hair growing so fast. Every time I do braids, I have to rebraid most of them after a week because I’m able to pick the braids up off my head too.

    I noticed that gel has Dimethicone Copolyol and Sodium Chloride. Have you done any research on those two ingredients? If so, what’s your take on them? I’m still trying to decide whether cones and table salt are a bad thing for me.

    1. Hmmmm, I am going to have to do some major research. This is disheartening. I’ll have to highlight this in a post so that others can see.

      I understand the capitalistic world we live in is full of exploitation. But I’m not so understanding when it comes to companies using a cloak of “green practices” and assistance to the underserved as a simple marketing ploy.

      Not cool. Folks, take note of the above link. I’ll be back with more thoughts (after I take the PCAT on the 19th and can dedicate something more than a flow of consciousness).

      Thanks Jenna!

Leave a Reply

