The Key to Understanding Your Natural Hair

If you look at 1000 natural hair blogs, you will get 1,000,000 tips, tricks and regimens for growing your natural hair.  But there are 4 major things:

  1. Look to others with similar naked hair
  2. Know your personal optimal protein:moisture balance
  3. Protect your ends
  4. Get healthy on the inside

That is it, in a nutshell.  There are no miracle potions, secrets to be discovered, or magic vitamins.  I, personally, am not sold on the idea of growth aids.  I truly believe that some of it is simply augmented by the extra TLC that comes along with using these aids.  In my opinion, the most important of these is finding a mentor, hair twin, blogger or whatever whose naked hair looks just like yours.   I will use myself as an example…

My hair is coarse, wiry and dense.  It has sheen, but not shine.  It takes a lot of water to “wet it down” as the water tends to just run off my strands.  It has waves, kinks, curls and only a few true coils.  It grows out before it grows down.  There is really only one other person that I have come across that is a true “hair twin”, and many of my hair explorations have been personal trial and error.  However, this was a learned process.

My hair, when loaded with styler and leave-in conditioner products looks as if it could be silky and not as coarse.  But this simply ain’t so.  In the beginning, when I was trying to figure out my own hair in 2006-2007, I would do a lot of stalking of people whose hair looked like by styled hair.  But I get no benefit from buying products used by someone whose normally hair looks like my styled hair.  The same products that they might use simply do not work on my hair texture.

Over the years, I have gotten the most growth (outside of pregnancy!), when I did protective styles which took care of my ends, had the best balance of moisture and protein, and had the best diet and exercise regimen.  As I have gotten the latter of these back in gear, I do believe that getting back to WL is right around the corner.

So, what do you guys think?  Do you agree or disagree?  Is there something else that you absolutely believe is key to understanding your hair and aiding in natural hair growth?

 

4 comments

  1. I cannot speak for everyone but the key for me understanding my natural hair is not having major hair envy. Being envious of another natural’s Afro, curl pattern and/or texture can be a major deterrent and hair ego buster for any natural. I’ve learned recently that my hair is my hair. I have to do what’s right for me and no one else.

    1. Applause Celatime, and thank you for your comment. You are absolutely right. Hair envy is the undoing of many people’s progress! I don’t know how many transitioners I have run into that decided to relax all over again because their hair wasn’t growing “like they wanted”. Naturals should definitely celebrate and acknowledge the beauty in other naturals, but we all need to celebrate and accept the beauty of what we possess first!

Leave a Reply

