The OFF Project

I will be 38 in September.  40 is ever so right-around-the-corner.

10 years ago (when I was approaching 30) I just knew I was leaving behind my good years…my years of fun, being carefree and independent.  I couldn’t imagine the joy that would come from this decade in my 30s.  And now, I am close to moving on to the next decade.  Even as recent as a year or two ago, this placed fear in my heart.  This was about the age that people started reporting health issues: high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol, arthritis and chronic pain, osteoporosis, anxiety and depression, weight gain, hormonal shifts…sigh.  The list is frightening.  I have been healthy to this point.  But for a moment, I started wondering, “Should I just prepare myself for the worst?”  Absolutely not.

Rather than fear the big 4-0, I have made a commitment to myself to become the healthiest I have ever been in life…mentally, physically and spiritually.  It’s a large reason why I made the shift to a ketogenic lifestyle.  I was 145 lbs with a BMI of 24.9, and half a chocolate roll away from being overweight according to the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.  I had to do something.  The first thing I did was change my eating habits.  I have been in ketosis for 5 weeks, and I think I am close to being keto-adapted.  In 5 weeks, I have lost 14lbs and now have a BMI of 22.5, which is well within the normal range.  I just started working on my fitness level, and I shall outline that at another time.  Back to The OFF Project.

OFF stands for Operation Forty and Fit.

Like I said, I want to be in the best shape possible mentally, physically and spiritually when I hit 40.  What I have learned about true, long-standing change is that it does not happen overnight.  I am dedicating the next two years to improving my well-being in every way possible.  I want to be a better person, a better mother, a better wife.  I want to improve my social-consciousness.  I want to augment my spiritual relationship with God.

The acronym for Operation Forty and Fit (OFF) is apropos, as attaining these personal goals requires the removal of all negativity and obstacles that can block these achievements.  Over the next 2 years, I will share what I am doing to be the best me I have ever been.

Is there anyone else out there approaching 40 with some goals they would like to achieve?  What do you want to take OFF?  What do you want to remove from your life that will allow you to be a better (fill in the blank)?  Has 40 come and gone and you have some words of wisdom you would like to share?  Come take this journey with me…or at least leave a comment along the way!

Leave a Reply

