Happy New Everything

As I look around, I am happy to see people accepting new challenges, setting new goals, destroying limitations and embracing positivity.  This is a great time of year for general reflection.  I like to take the time to survey my life to get a sense of where I am in my personal goals.  I keep my most sacred goals to myself, not because I am afraid of failure but because there are just some things I like to cherish and celebrate within.  Of course everybody enjoys a little praise from the masses, but self satisfaction is still a concept that I relish.

On the flip side, there is some benefit to proclaiming other goals.  It provides a sense of accountability.  However, sensibility must also be employed.  Come on people, t’s not east to read a book a week if you are a graduate student with a full time job, 4 children, husband and a non-profit you are getting off the ground (not impossible, just not super practical).  And a true (honest!) self-assessment must be completed.  For this year, I just want to continue on the path I have created for myself.

Hair.

I had the pleasure of getting a DevaCut by the lovely Stacey at Curltopia in Smyrna, GA in November.  It was a great cut, and my hair now has a shape, but I miss my length.  Which begs the question of why I went for length to begin with…I never wore it out before.  But now, since I at least have a shape as a base, I think I *might* be able to wear it out when it gets longer.  *Shoulder Shrug*.

Who knows.  To be honest, I am just stuck in limbo with this hair.  I grow it.  I cut it.  I color it.  I swear off coloring for life.  I color it again.  I cut it again.  I just need to find my way back to the basics; get strong, healthy hair; and celebrate its essence in the moment.

Health.

This past year, I finally reflected on my eating habits.  Rather than setting a goal of losing ‘X’ lbs, I did an overhaul on my eating.  I adopted low carbs, high healthy fats and moderate protein focused on clean eating and cutting out gluten.  I have essentially cut out bread, pasta, rice, legumes and dairy.  It is pretty Paleo.  In the process, I have shed 30 lbs without an hour of exercise.  I am well below my personal “ideal” weight, and I am happy with that number.  But now, I want to tone.  I want to be fit and decrease my overall body fat %.

And so, I want to start the year off with a goal that falls into the #1 category where people make resolutions: ’12 Weeks of Documentation’.  This is where I will show you what I’m eating and doing physically on a daily basis.  I will take some pictures to document the changes.  I read somewhere that it takes 4 weeks for you to see changes in your body, 8 weeks for your friends to see, and 12 weeks for the world to see.  Let’s see what happens in 12 weeks.

Professional Life.

Any one that has followed by completely random and sporadic blogging postings knows that I am pursuing a PharmD.  I am in my final year (comprised of rotations) and am currently applying for residencies.  Deadlines at different programs have been rolling and and programs are extremely competitive.  We will see if I am one of the lucky few that lands a spot!  Meditating and praying on this one!

This Blog.

Simply put, I need to put more effort into documenting things.  I love writing and this blog is my outlet.

Spiritual Life.

I leave this one for last, because it is the one to which I dedicate so much thought.  In 2015, I hope to become grounded in my spiritual life.  My beliefs are one of those things I keep to myself, but I’d like to find a conduit for practicing these beliefs that is amenable to my family of four with very special needs.

What are your goals in 2015?

Leave a Reply

