Day 1

Hair.

Sooooo, I have been rocking a wash-n-go turned twist out for exactly seven days.  I have a meeting tomorrow, so something needs to be done.  But for the past week, I have absolutely loved the fluff!  I came about my new routine after getting upset for the umpteenth time about my hair taking several days to dry from a WNG.  So, at the end of day 1, I just do large twists (about 12 or so).  It is a great way to expose my roots.  For my nighttime routine, I just throw on a bonnet.  I do not do the pineapple.  For me, putting in and taking out the pineapple causes more frizz than just a bonnet.  In the morning, I just remove the bonnet, fluff, and go.

Meals.

Breakfast: 2 chicken roll-ups (deli-slice rotisserie chicken with colby jack slice)
Snack: 1/4 avocado with salt and pepper
Lunch: Canned tuna, drained with a squeeze of lemon juice and celery seed
Dinner: Roasted pork tenderloin, sauteed spinach (in grass-fed butter with red onion), roasted butternut squash (with cinnamon, cumin and ground ginger), small glass of Rhiannon red blend wine
Snack: Handful of almonds
Water intake (over the course of the day): 2 liters

Today was a light day.  My total calorie intake was around 1100 calories.  But I wasn’t hungry.  Eating nutrient dense foods goes a long way to keeping you full.  Here is the breakdown on nutrients:
– 29% Protein, 71.9g
– 55% Fat 60.9g
– 16% Carbs 38.6g minus 12.9g of fiber) = 25.7g net carbs

NOTE: This is an extremely low carb plan and is not for everyone.  I do not suggest you jump into this unless you are ready/prepared to go through carb withdrawal.  It took me several attempts to really get into this way of eating before finally sticking with it.  Right around day 3, I would get keto-flu, which is no joke: migraine, nausea, shaky, hypoglycemic symptoms.  Honestly speaking, it straight sucked.  But once you get through that – around day 4 or 5 – you wake up feeling energized.  And every time I go off the range, I have to go back through leto-flu (to a slightly lesser degree).  So, I stay pretty focused.

If you are new to this way of eating (WOE) or considering a new start, I would slowly reduce the carb intake every few days until you get to the level you want.

I start working out tomorrow…stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

