Day 2 – Taming of the Shrew

Soooo, I had an interview today.  The only problem is, I let the morning get away from me.  Woke up, got the kids ready for school, dropped them off, ran an errand or two, stressed over the last two residency applications…and before I knew it, I had about 20 minutes before it was time to leave.  Sigh.  My plan was to wash, condition, detangle and bun it up.  But that is neither an easy nor a quick feat for me.  Somehow, I decided on half-up and half-down.  I also opted for a bare face, with just a hint of vaseline on the lips.

PhotoGrid_1420509036113

This before hair, though.

The “what is going on?” face is the product of seeing my lop-sided hair growth and the realization that my gray hair in the front is coming in a’la stripe from the gremlins.  It looks like a sliver of a highlight in the top left photo, but I assure you, it is about ten strands together.  I am not ready to surrender to the skunky pattern quite yet.  Only problem is, I have sworn off color.  I love how it looks, but it wreaks havoc on my hair without mercy.  And I don’t have the luxury of time to do the proper treatments that could prevent some of the damage that leads to my hair feeling like bailed hay.  Maybe there is some henna on the horizon…

Now, for my meals.

Since I was on the go quite a bit this morning, I didn’t get a chance to sit down for my own breakfast.  I live in a household where there are feeding issues galore.  Some days I prepare four separate meals.  Needless to say, I am trying to create a grand scheme to minimize those days.  In the past, I would skip meals on a regular basis.  That did nothing but tank my metabolism and force my body to coddle whatever body fat existed (especially in the mid-section) since it didn’t know when the next meal was coming.

Enter…the Quest Bar.  These bars seriously changed my life.  To have a GOOD tasting protein bar, made from real food, on a low carb diet is like finding a unicorn.  And for a finally-out-of-denial recovering sugar addict, the last thing I want is something that will make my brain crave sugar.

From their site: Sugar, for instance, doesn’t even exist at our facility. The only sugar in our bars comes from things like the nuts and freeze-dried fruit. Every sweet, mouthwatering bite of a Quest Bar is the result of painstaking trial and error to discover the most insanely delicious ingredients that promote a healthy lifestyle.

My favorites are coconut cashew, lemon cream pie and cinnamon roll.  I’ve only tried one I didn’t like, and that was the banana nut muffin (I’ll keep my comments on this one to myself).  There are also a few flavors that I can’t wait to try: s’mores, cookies and cream, white chocolate raspberry, double chocolate chunk, vanilla almond crunch.  Oh my gosh…I think I just salivated on myself.  Here is a link to all the yummy options: goodness in bar form.

My only criticism is the price.  At just under $2.50 a bar, there are cheaper options out there.  But I would be willing to place a bet the alternatives are not nearly as good for you.

My meals for the day:

Breakfast (on-the-go): Quest Lemon Cream Pie Bar
Snack: Handful of almonds
Lunch: Leftover pork tenderloin (4 oz), Tuscan Kale Salad
Snack: Coffee with cream and coconut oil
Dinner: Roasted chicken, leftover roasted butternut squash, 1/2 avocado

Details: 1211 calories
Macronutrient breakdown:
– 20% Protein, 66.4g
– 58% Fat, 72.6g
– 22% Carbohydrates, 72.6g minus 40.3g fiber = 32.3g net carbs

One comment

Leave a Reply

